weary
Sunday 10th December, at 4.30 pm

Choreography and concept: Else Tunemyr
By and with: Catalina Insignares, Else Tunemyr, Zuzana Žabková
Dramaturgy: Henrike Kohpheiß, Carolina Mendonça

In weary three dancers have forgone the vertical in favour of the horizontal. Here, the female body becomes not a sign nor a symbol, instead materialises as nothing but itself. Movement, apparently unstructured, gradually unfolds as a carefully composed choreography. Shifting, turning, and waiting constitute the language with which the female bodies demand the right to speak as no one. Yet, one radical question makes itself visible: Is there another way of being in the world?

Catalina Insignares, Henrike Kohpheiß Carolina Mendonça, Else Tunemyr and Zuzana Žabková met during their studies in Giessen. In weary thinking about what a feminist dramaturgy could involve led to a use of non-linear time and a non-progressive unfolding of events. The work does not include a conclusion, or a climax but a bending, blurring of time. It refuses optimism, and it refuses an erectile vertical climax.

Else Tunemyr (b. 1984 Sweden) lives in Frankfurt, Germany. She engages in different collaborations, sometimes as a dancer and sometimes as a maker, often without a clear division. She studied for a BA in Dance Theatre at Laban, London, and a MA in Choreography and Performance at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies, Giessen. Her interest centres on the question of how the political is produced through choreography.

Informations

BOGHOSSIAN FOUNDATION – VILLA EMPAIN
Centre for art and dialogue between the cultures of the East and the West
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
B – 1050 Brussels

Price : 10€
Free for the members of the Circle of the Villa
4€ for students under 26

This includes access to the exhibitions
Ways of Seeing and Instantanés d’Orient

weary
Dimanche 10 décembre, à 16.30 heures

Chorégraphie et concept : Else Tunemyr
Par et avec : Catalina Insignares, Else Tunemyr, Zuzana Žabková
Dramaturgie : Henrike Kohpheiß, Carolina Mendonça

Au sein de weary, trois danseuses ont renoncé au vertical pour laisser place à l’horizontal. Ici, le corps féminin n’est plus signe ni symbole, mais se matérialise comme rien d’autre que lui-même. Le mouvement, vraisemblablement non-structuré, se déploie progressivement comme une chorégraphie soigneusement composée. Le changement, la transformation et l’attente font partie du langage par lequel les corps féminins réclament le droit de s’exprimer comme personne. Cependant une question radicale se présente : Existe-t-il une autre façon d’exister dans le monde ?

Catalina Insignares, Henrike Kohpheiß, Carolina Mendonça, Else Tunemyr et Zuzana Žabková se sont rencontrées lors de leurs études à Giessen. Pour weary, penser à ce qu’une dramaturgie féministe pourrait impliquer a conduit à l’utilisation d’une chronologie non-linéaire et à un déroulement non-progressif des événements. Ce travail ne comporte ni conclusion, ni apogée, mais seulement un détournement, un brouillage de l’espace-temps. Ce travail refuse l’optimisme et refuse une culmination érectile verticale.

Else Tunemyr (née en 1984, Suède) vit à Francfort, Allemagne. Elle participe à différentes collaborations, parfois en tant que danseuse et parfois comme créatrice, souvent sans distinction claire entre les deux. Elle a obtenu un Bachelier en Arts en Danse et Théâtre à Laban, Londres et un Master en Chorégraphie et Performance au Institute for Applied Theatre Studies, à Giessen. Elle s’intéresse à comment le politique est produit à travers la chorégraphie.

Informations pratiques

FONDATION BOGHOSSIAN – VILLA EMPAIN
Centre d’art et de dialogue entre les cultures d’orient et d’occident
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
B – 1050 Bruxelles

Prix : 10€
Gratuit pour les membres du Cercle de la Villa
Les personnes de moins de 26 ans : 4€

Ce montant inclut l’accès aux expositions
Ways of Seeing et Instantanés d’Orient