Performatik17 | DD Dorvillier
A week of steps at the Villa Empain
Saturday 1st avril 2017

Body sculptures play a central role in this edition of the Brussels Biennale of performance art Performatik17. It’s in this framework that the Boghossian Foundation welcomes choreographer DD Dorvillier. The artist will be in residence at the Villa Empain from 27 March to work on her new project A week of steps at the Villa Empain which will be presented to the public on Saturday 1st April 2017.

 

Practice with DD Dorvillier…

For those who are curious about the process and project, or interested in a free and fun way of getting into their body with others, or perhaps who like to visit the Villa Empain by dancing there… whatever the motivation, the Boghossian Foundation is happy to invite its public to join DD and the performers at the Villa Empain on Tuesday 28 march and Thursday 30 march, 2017 at 10:30 to noon, for free and open physical practice sessions.

Each session begins with a “moving with eyes closed” practice lead by DD in which participants direct and follow their own curiosity and self-reflection, through movement and the use of sound, and through the witnessing of their partner moving. The stipulation is that everyone who is present must participate. It’s followed by a practice called “touch, move, talk, write” during which the participants will touch, move, talk, and write their way through a few of the elements of the A catalogue of steps taxonomy.

 

Performatik17

DD Dorvillier presents a collection of danced fragments drawn from videos of her works while a youngster in the New York 90s. A catalogue of steps is an extended project in which she invents a taxonomy to classify over 300 choreographic fragments dating from 1990 to 2004. For A week at the Villa she and the performers will study and learn a collection of these fragments. On Saturday they will dance the fragments over and over again, removed from their original context: no text, no music, no lights. The colourful exhibition Decor at Villa Empain forms a new backdrop. What is left of Dorvillier’s ‘collection’ in a setting that is completely alien to the original performance? This way of looking back and into dance aims to be as subjective, aesthetic, and playful as possible.

 

About DD Dorvillier

DD Dorvillier is a Puerto Rican born choreographer now based in France who focuses on the relationship between abstraction, embodiment, language, perception, and meaning. Her work has been shown at the Kaaitheater several times, as well as at The Kitchen, PS122, Impulstanz, DeSingel, HAU, and Centre Georges Pompidou, among others.

created by DD Dorvillier / human future dance corps | performed by Katerina Andreou, Bryan Campbell, DD Dorvillier, Myrto Katsiki | performance in Brussels supported by Institut français and Alliance Française de Bruxelles-Europe & Ambassade de France en Belgique, in the framework of EXTRA

image
4538_orig

Informations

BOGHOSSIAN FOUNDATION – VILLA EMPAIN

Centre for art and dialogue between the cultures of the East and the West
avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
1050 Brussels


Practice with DD Dorvillier

Tuesday 28 & Thursday 30 March 2017
From 10.30 am to noon
Free
Please bring a notebook
On reservation only:
info@humanfuturedancecorps.org


Performatik17

Saturday 1st April 2017
At 3 pm and 4 pm
Reservation : Performatik

Performatik17 | DD Dorvillier
A week of steps at the Villa Empain
Samedi 1er avril 2017

La biennale de la performance artistique Performatik met les sculptures vivantes au cœur de son l’édition 2017. C’est dans ce cadre que la Fondation Boghossian accueille la chorégraphe DD Dorvillier en résidence dès le 27 mars pour travailler à son œuvre inédite A week of steps at the Villa Empain. Celle-ci sera présentée au public le 1er avril 2017.

 

Venez travailler avec DD Dorvillier…

Pour tous ceux qui sont curieux de mieux connaître le processus et le projet, ou ceux qui souhaitent apprendre d’une manière ludique et gratuite à se lâcher dans son corps et avec les autres, ou encore ceux qui souhaiteraient visiter la Villa Empain en y dansant… quelle que soit la motivation, la Fondation Boghossian est heureuse d’inviter son public à rejoindre DD et les interprètes à la Villa Empain le mardi 28 mars ainsi que le jeudi 30 mars 2017, de 10:30 à midi pour des séances pratiques gratuites et ouvertes à tous.

Chaque séance débute par une pratique intitulée “se déplacer les yeux fermés” menée par DD, au travers de laquelle les participants dirigent et poursuivent leur propre curiosité et introspection, grâce au mouvement et l’emploi du son, ainsi qu’au travers du témoignage des déplacements de son partenaire. La seule exigence est que toutes les personnes présentes doivent participer. Cet exercice sera suivi par une pratique appelée “toucher, se déplacer, parler, écrire” pendant laquelle les participants toucheront, se déplaceront, parleront et écriront tout en évoquant certains éléments de la taxonomie de A catalogue of steps.

 

Performatik17

DD Dorvillier présente une collection dansée de son œuvre de 1990 à 2004. Elle est partie d’enregistrements en vidéo dont elle a choisi – selon une catégorisation et une taxonomie stricte – 300 extraits. Avec ses performeurs, elle a étudié une sélection de ces extraits en faisant l’impasse sur leur contexte : pas de texte ni de musique, pas de costumes ni d’accessoires. L’exposition Decor à la Villa Empain fait office de toile de fond. Que reste-t-il de la « collection » de Dorvillier dans un environnement totalement étranger à la chorégraphie originale ? Cette manière radicalement nouvelle d’archiver la danse se veut avant tout subjective, esthétique et ludique.

 

A propos de DD Dorvillier

DD Dorvillier est une chorégraphe américaine qui se focalise sur la relation entre abstraction, corporalité, langage, perception et signification. Elle est régulièrement à l’affiche du Kaaitheater et, entre autres, de PS122, The Kitchen, Impulstanz, DeSingel, HAU et du Centre Georges Pompidou.

created by DD Dorvillier / human future dance corps | performed by Katerina Andreou, Bryan Campbell, DD Dorvillier, Myrto Katsiki | performance in Brussels supported by Institut français and Alliance Française de Bruxelles-Europe & Ambassade de France en Belgique, in the framework of EXTRA

image
4538_orig

Informations pratiques

FONDATION BOGHOSSIAN – VILLA EMPAIN

Centre d’art et de dialogue entre les cultures d’Orient et d’Occident
avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
1050 Bruxelles

 

Vivre une répétition avec DD Dorvillier
Mardi 28 & Jeudi 30 mars 2017
De 10h30 à midi
Gratuit

Merci de prévoir un carnet de notes
Sur réservation uniquement:
info@humanfuturedancecorps.org


Performatik17

Samedi 1 avril 2017
A 15h et à 16h
Reservation : Performatik