Flag: a piece of cloth with a particular design representing a country, party, association, etc. (Cambridge Dictionary)

 

With Flags, the Boghossian Foundation explores the question of territory, multiple identities and intercultural dialogue.

Flags hold a constant place in art, from classical historical painting to contemporary installations.

With the juxtaposition of their strips of coloured fabrics, flags have stimulated painters with their qualities for abstraction, well before abstract art preferred chromatic fields to the representation of reality. Tricolour or monochrome, each colour or combination of colours immediately evokes references that we find repeatedly in artistic creation.

Their political and symbolic resonance has been the primary pretext for including flags in works of art. A flag can serve to represent a nation, to celebrate a victory or the conquest of a territory, but also to symbolize and defend a cause. Liberty leading the people or the flagged streets dear to Impressionist and Fauvist painters are outstanding examples, as are the more contemporary works of Gérard Fromanger and Mounir Fatmi.

A flag can give contradictory messages: it can evoke implicit criticism of dominating regimes or dictatorships, but it can also exalt the adhesion of a nation to its identity, for example in reaction to an act of terrorism, as we saw following the attacks aimed at Charlie Hebdo. Or again with the frequent use of the American flag in iconography.

A flag being a sacred object, the voluntary destruction of a country’s flag is seen as a highly subversive act punishable by law, while the pattern of its colours is recorded in national constitutions.

But a flag is also an object, a frontal icon for Jasper Johns, a module for filling space in Daniel Buren’s installations, an image with multiple meanings for Marcel Broodthaers, etc.

It is these and many other uses of flags in modern and contemporary art that this exhibition seeks to bring together in a transnational course of exchanges and confrontations.

Artists

Marina Abramovic, Saâdane Afif, Gordana Andjelic-Galic, Diane Arbus, Micha Bar-Am, Bruno Barbey, Nú Barreto, Pierre Bismuth, Alighiero Boetti, Marcel Broodthaers, Zoulikha Bouabdellah, Daniel Buren, René Burri, Mircea Cantor, Léon Cogniet, Roger de La Fresnaye, Wim Delvoye, Edith Dekyndt, Gustave de Smet, Raoul Dufy, Mounir Fatmi, Michel François, Stuart Franklin, Gérard Fromanger, John Gerrard, Gilbert & George, David Hammons, Keith Haring, Childe Hassam, Thomas Hoepker, Jonathan Horowitz, Jasper Johns, Nikita Kadan, Evgueni Khaldeï, Kimsooja, Robert Longo, George Maciunias, Peter Marlow, Susan Meiselas, Jonathan Monk, Adolphe Mouilleron, Claes Oldenburg, Martin Parr, Peybak, Pablo Picasso, Sara Rahbar, Jean-Pierre Raynaud, Marc Riboud, Faith Ringgold, Joe Rosenthal, Yara Said, Franck Scurti, Thomas Schütte, Andres Serrano, Sturtevant, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Larry Towell, Danh Vo, Gustave Wappers, Andy Warhol.

Curator : Alfred Pacquement

 

In collaboration with Visit.Brussels

Artists

Marina Abramovic, Saâdane Afif, Gordana Andjelic-Galic, Diane Arbus, Micha Bar-Am, Bruno Barbey, Nú Barreto, Pierre Bismuth, Alighiero Boetti, Marcel Broodthaers, Zoulikha Bouabdellah, Daniel Buren, René Burri, Mircea Cantor, Léon Cogniet, Roger de La Fresnaye, Wim Delvoye, Edith Dekyndt, Gustave de Smet, Raoul Dufy, Mounir Fatmi, Michel François, Stuart Franklin, Gérard Fromanger, John Gerrard, Gilbert & George, David Hammons, Keith Haring, Childe Hassam, Thomas Hoepker, Jonathan Horowitz, Jasper Johns, Nikita Kadan, Evgueni Khaldeï, Kimsooja, Robert Longo, George Maciunias, Peter Marlow, Susan Meiselas, Jonathan Monk, Adolphe Mouilleron, Claes Oldenburg, Martin Parr, Peybak, Pablo Picasso, Sara Rahbar, Jean-Pierre Raynaud, Marc Riboud, Faith Ringgold, Joe Rosenthal, Yara Said, Franck Scurti, Thomas Schütte, Andres Serrano, Sturtevant, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Larry Towell, Danh Vo, Gustave Wappers, Andy Warhol.

Curator : Alfred Pacquement

 

In collaboration with Visit.Brussels

Drapeau : pièce d’étoffe attachée à une hampe et portant les couleurs, les emblèmes (d’une nation, d’un groupement, d’un chef…) pour servir de signe de ralliement, de symbole, etc.  (Dictionnaire Le Robert)

 

Avec Flags, la Fondation Boghossian explore la question du territoire, des identités multiples et du dialogue interculturel.

Les drapeaux tiennent une place constante dans l’art depuis la grande peinture d’histoire jusqu’aux installations contemporaines.

Par leur juxtaposition de lés de tissus colorés les drapeaux ont pu stimuler les peintres du fait de leur qualité d’abstraction, et ce avant même que l’art abstrait privilégie à son tour des champs chromatiques plutôt que de représenter le réel. Drapeau tricolore, drapeau monochrome : chaque couleur ou association de couleurs évoque d’emblée des références que l’on va retrouver démultipliées dans la création artistique.

La résonance politique et symbolique du drapeau a surtout été prétexte à leur intervention au sein des œuvres d’art. Le drapeau peut servir à représenter une nation, célébrer une victoire ou la conquête d’un territoire, mais aussi à symboliser et défendre une cause.  La Liberté guidant le peuple ou les rues pavoisées chères aux peintres impressionnistes et fauves en sont d’éclatants exemples, de même que plus près de nous les œuvres de Gérard Fromanger ou de Mounir Fatmi.

Objet sacré, sa destruction volontaire est un acte d’une forte portée subversive condamné par les lois, alors que l’assemblage de ses couleurs est inscrit dans les constitutions des pays.

Mais il est aussi objet, icône frontale pour Jasper Johns, bannière pour investir l’espace dans les installations de Daniel Buren, image aux significations multiples chez Marcel Broodthaers, etc.

Ce sont de telles utilisations du drapeau et bien d’autres encore dans l’art moderne et contemporain que cette exposition veut rassembler en un parcours transnational, d’échanges et de confrontations.

Commissaire : Alfred Pacquement

Commissaire : Alfred Pacquement