The Boghossian Foundation’s exhibition How will it end? and events are accessible only on presentation of the Covid safe ticket

The exhibition, designed in co-production with the Pompidou Centre, offers an unprecedented dialogue between its exceptional collections and pieces by Lebanese artists of all generations. Produced in recent years or following the tragic explosions of 4th August 2020, their works are tracing out possible paths to the future, between despair and gentleness, exiles and new anchorages.

 

Land of myth and legend, where five thousand years of history have been written, nerve centre of relations between the Arab world and the West throughout its history, Lebanon has passed through troubled times since its creation as an independent state.

Its strategic position, the source of its prestige, is also a source of envy and destruction. In recent years the country, after recovering from a long civil war and several successive wars, has experienced an unprecedented economic and social crisis. The demonstrations which have sprung up en masse have encountered opposition from the political class.

On 4 August 2020, the blast from the explosion in the port of Beirut completely devastated the city, leaving hundreds of people dead and hundreds of thousands injured and displaced. Faced with the disaster, the Boghossian Foundation immediately came to the aid of the victims. The idea was born to present an exhibition at the Villa Empain in 2021 to give a voice to artists, widely affected by the event,

The exhibition explores the spectrum of the practices and reactions by artists faced both with these recent years of débâcle and with the event of the explosion and its consequences for the people and for the city, of which the ruined districts are so many testimonies.

Confronted with massive shortages, dissolving public services, devaluation, border conflicts, the pervasive trauma of a people out of breath and consumed by anger or despair, artists, native or having lived in Lebanon, have created works, directly or indirectly related to the situation of recent years.

Conceived in partnership with the Pompidou Centre, the exhibition includes a body of works from the Centre’s exceptional collections.

How will it end? circuit offers an unprecedented dialogue between works from the Pompidou Centre collection and pieces by Lebanese artists of all generations, especially younger ones, produced in recent years or following the tragedy, and tracing out, between despair and gentleness, exiles and new anchorages, possible paths to the future. The ensemble brings together drawings, sculptures, installations, paintings, photographs and videos.

 

Artists

Etel Adnan, Abed Al Kadiri, Charbel Alkhoury & Monica Basbous, Mounira Al Solh, Vladimir Antaki, Ziad Antar, Caline Aoun, Danielle Arbid, Vartan Avakian, Ayman Baalbaki, Charbel-joseph H. Boutros, Gregory Buchakjian, Ali Cherri, Omar Fakhoury, Simone Fattal, Raymond Gemayel, Daniele Genadry, Chafa Ghaddar, Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige, Gilbert Hage, Yazan Halwani, ICONEM, Jeanne et Moreau, Maria Kassab, Mireille Kassar, Bettina Khoury Badr, Pierre Koukjian, Samar Mogharbel, Marwan Moujaes, Dala Nasser, Ramy Saad, Stéphanie Saadé, Christine Safa, Christian Sleiman, Rayyane Tabet, Paola Yacoub, Maha Yammine, Raed Yassin, Cynthia Zaven, Lamia Ziadé.

 

 

Curators Alicia Knock and Louma Salamé

Alicia Knock, Curator for the Contemporary Art and Research department of the National Museum of Modern Art of the Centre Pompidou , and Louma Salamé, Director of the Boghossian Foundation.

Artists

Etel Adnan, Abed Al Kadiri, Charbel Alkhoury & Monica Basbous, Mounira Al Solh, Vladimir Antaki, Ziad Antar, Caline Aoun, Danielle Arbid, Vartan Avakian, Ayman Baalbaki, Charbel-joseph H. Boutros, Gregory Buchakjian, Ali Cherri, Omar Fakhoury, Simone Fattal, Raymond Gemayel, Daniele Genadry, Chafa Ghaddar, Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige, Gilbert Hage, Yazan Halwani, ICONEM, Jeanne et Moreau, Maria Kassab, Mireille Kassar, Bettina Khoury Badr, Pierre Koukjian, Samar Mogharbel, Marwan Moujaes, Dala Nasser, Ramy Saad, Stéphanie Saadé, Christine Safa, Christian Sleiman, Rayyane Tabet, Paola Yacoub, Maha Yammine, Raed Yassin, Cynthia Zaven, Lamia Ziadé.

 

 

Curators Alicia Knock and Louma Salamé

Alicia Knock, Curator for the Contemporary Art and Research department of the National Museum of Modern Art of the Centre Pompidou , and Louma Salamé, Director of the Boghossian Foundation.

L’exposition conçue en partenariat avec le Centre Pompidou propose un dialogue inédit entre les œuvres issues de ses collections exceptionnelles et les pièces d’artistes libanais de toutes générations ayant été réalisées ces dernières années ou à la suite des tragiques explosions du 4 août 2020. Entre désespoir et douceur, exils et nouveaux ancrages, ces œuvres tracent quelques futurs possibles.

 

Pays de légendes et de mythes, où cinq mille ans d’histoire se sont écrits, point névralgique des relations entre le monde arabe et l’occident tout au long de son histoire, le Liban traverse depuis sa création des périodes troubles.

Sa position stratégique, à l’origine de son prestige, est également une source de convoitise et de destruction. Ces dernières années, le pays, qui s’était relevé d’une longue guerre civile et de plusieurs guerres successives, a connu une crise économique et sociale sans précédent. Les manifestations qui ont vu le jour en masse se sont heurtées à l’immobilisme de la classe politique.

Le 4 août 2020, le souffle de l’explosion du port de Beyrouth a entièrement dévasté la ville, faisant des centaines de morts et des centaines de milliers de blessés et de délogés. Face à la catastrophe, la Fondation Boghossian est immédiatement venue en aide aux victimes. Aux côtés des artistes, largement touchés par l’événement, l’idée est née de présenter une exposition à la Villa Empain en 2021, qui leur donne la parole.

L’exposition explore le spectre des pratiques et des réactions des artistes, face à ces dernières années de débâcle, l’évènement de l’explosion et ses conséquences sur le peuple et sur la ville, dont les quartiers en ruine sont autant de témoignages.

Confrontés aux pénuries massives, à la dissolution du service public, à la dévaluation, aux conflits aux frontières, au traumatisme prégnant d’un peuple à bout de souffle et rongé par la colère ou le désespoir, les artistes, nés ou ayant vécu au Liban, ont créé des œuvres, en relation directe ou indirecte à la situation de ces dernières années.

How will it end ? est conçue en partenariat avec le Centre Pompidou et présente une vingtaine d’œuvres issues de ses collections exceptionnelles.

Le parcours de l’exposition propose un dialogue inédit entre les œuvres de la collection du Centre Pompidou et des pièces d’artistes libanais de toutes générations ayant été réalisées ces dernières années ou à la suite de la tragédie, et traçant, entre désespoir et douceur, exils et nouveaux ancrages, quelques futurs possibles. L’ensemble réunit des dessins, sculptures, installations, peintures, photographies et vidéos.

L’exposition, conçue en coproduction avec le Centre Pompidou, a comme commissaires Alicia Knock, conservatrice du patrimoine au Centre Pompidou, et Louma Salamé, directrice de la Fondation Boghossian.

L’exposition, conçue en coproduction avec le Centre Pompidou, a comme commissaires Alicia Knock, conservatrice du patrimoine au Centre Pompidou, et Louma Salamé, directrice de la Fondation Boghossian.