From early icons from Europe and the Middle East to modern and contemporary works, icons have inspired many believers, as well as artists, throughout the ages. The exhibition unveils how spiritual dimensions have been incorporated into artworks since antiquity.

Tradition attributes the first icons to Saint Luke who, after Pentecost, is said to have painted three representations of the Virgin Mary. From the first icons of Europe and the Middle East to modern and contemporary works, these pictorial representations of the divine have inspired many believers and artists. The exhibition Icons, curated by Henri Loyrette, former Director of the Musée d’Orsay and Chairman and Director of the Louvre Museum, reveals how spiritual dimensions have been integrated into works of art from Antiquity to the present day.

The exhibition shows a selection of ancient icons from Europe and Russia – depicting variously Christ, the Mother of God, or individual saints – the striking simplicity of which sets them apart as timeless objects of veneration.

A second set of works by 19th and 20th century artists such as Charles Filiger and Lucien Levy-Dhurmer explores the frontal and depth-less composition of icons. The exhibition also discusses the use that contemporary artists like Yan Pei-Ming and Wim Delvoye make of iconographic language.

Artists

Michael Craig-Martin, Wim Delvoye, Mounir Fatmi, Jean Fautrier, Charles Filiger, Ellen Gallagher, Douglas Gordon, Duane Hanson, Titus Kaphar, Octave Landuyt, Bertrand Lavier, Lucien Levy-Dhurmer, MARWAN, Claude Mellan, Annette Messager, Yan Pei-Ming, Pierre et Gilles, Arnulf Rainer, Georges Rouault, Fabrice Samyn, Sarkis, Henry Van de Velde, Andy Warhol, Gustave van de Woestyne

Curator Henri Loyrette

Image  Pierre et Gilles, La Madone au cœur blessé – Lio, 1991 – Pinault Collection

 

With the support of the Brussels-Capital Region

Artists

Michael Craig-Martin, Wim Delvoye, Mounir Fatmi, Jean Fautrier, Charles Filiger, Ellen Gallagher, Douglas Gordon, Duane Hanson, Titus Kaphar, Octave Landuyt, Bertrand Lavier, Lucien Levy-Dhurmer, MARWAN, Claude Mellan, Annette Messager, Yan Pei-Ming, Pierre et Gilles, Arnulf Rainer, Georges Rouault, Fabrice Samyn, Sarkis, Henry Van de Velde, Andy Warhol, Gustave van de Woestyne

Curator Henri Loyrette

Image  Pierre et Gilles, La Madone au cœur blessé – Lio, 1991 – Pinault Collection

 

With the support of the Brussels-Capital Region

La Fondation Boghossian est exceptionnellement fermée le samedi 18 septembre 2021

Des premières icônes d’Europe et du Moyen-Orient aux œuvres modernes et contemporaines, les icônes ont inspiré de nombreux croyants et artistes, à travers les âges. L’exposition dévoile comment les dimensions spirituelles ont été intégrées dans les œuvres d’art depuis l’Antiquité.

La tradition attribue les premières icônes à Saint-Luc qui, après la Pentecôte, aurait peint trois représentations de la Vierge Marie. Des premières icônes d’Europe et du Moyen-Orient aux œuvres modernes et contemporaines, ces représentations imagées du divin ont inspiré de nombreux croyants et artistes. L’exposition Icons, curatée par Henri Loyrette, ancien Directeur du Musée d’Orsay et Président-Directeur du Musée du Louvre, dévoile comment les dimensions spirituelles ont été intégrées dans les œuvres d’art depuis l’Antiquité à nos jours.

L’exposition présente une sélection d’icônes anciennes en provenance d’Europe et de Russie – représentant tour à tour le Christ, la Mère de Dieu, ou des Saints individuels – dont la simplicité frappante les distingue en tant qu’objets de vénération intemporels.

Un second ensemble d’œuvres d’artistes du XIXe et XXe siècle, tels Charles Filiger ou encore Lucien Levy-Dhurmer, explore la composition frontale et sans profondeur des icônes. L’exposition aborde également l’utilisation que font les artistes contemporains du langage iconographique, à l’instar de Yan Pei-Ming et Wim Delvoye.

Artistes

Michael Craig-Martin, Wim Delvoye, Mounir Fatmi, Jean Fautrier, Charles Filiger, Ellen Gallagher, Douglas Gordon, Duane Hanson, Titus Kaphar, Octave Landuyt, Bertrand Lavier, Lucien Levy-Dhurmer, MARWAN, Claude Mellan, Annette Messager, Yan Pei-Ming, Pierre et Gilles, Arnulf Rainer, Georges Rouault, Fabrice Samyn, Sarkis, Henry Van de Velde, Andy Warhol, Gustave van de Woestyne

Commissaire Henri Loyrette

Image  Pierre et Gilles, La Madone au cœur blessé – Lio (détail), 1991 – Pinault Collection

 

Avec le soutien de la Région de Bruxelles Capitale

Artistes

Michael Craig-Martin, Wim Delvoye, Mounir Fatmi, Jean Fautrier, Charles Filiger, Ellen Gallagher, Douglas Gordon, Duane Hanson, Titus Kaphar, Octave Landuyt, Bertrand Lavier, Lucien Levy-Dhurmer, MARWAN, Claude Mellan, Annette Messager, Yan Pei-Ming, Pierre et Gilles, Arnulf Rainer, Georges Rouault, Fabrice Samyn, Sarkis, Henry Van de Velde, Andy Warhol, Gustave van de Woestyne

Commissaire Henri Loyrette

Image  Pierre et Gilles, La Madone au cœur blessé – Lio (détail), 1991 – Pinault Collection

 

Avec le soutien de la Région de Bruxelles Capitale