The Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain is exceptionally closed on Thursday 20 June. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to welcoming you from Friday 21 June, until 8 September for the visit of the exhibition Josef and Anni Albers.

The Boghossian Foundation presented Instantanés d’Orient, a selection of photographs from the Biennal of contemporary photographers from the Arab world shown in Paris at the Arab world institute as well as at the European house of photography in 2017.

The group exhibition at the Villa Empain explores the contemporary Arab world through the diverse viewpoints of six photographers: Jaber Al Azmeh, Moath Alofi, Mouna Karray, Rania Matar, Douraïd Souissi et Stephan Zaubitzer.

These artists – from Tunisia, Lebanon, Syria, Saudi Arabia and Germany – capture original portraits and troubling landscapes through their series of snapshots.

Jack Lang, President of the Arab world institute, affirms : “Photography remains an incomparable indicator of the astonishing upheaval shaping the Arab world.” These images, which the artists choose to conjure up from reality, are both symbolic tales and imaginary storytellings perpetually placing the Arab world between fantasy and reality.

Exploring contemporary creative photography in this region helps bring to light the diversity of the concerns facing the photographers who live and work in the Arab world, and helps to connect each of their practices whether they are conceptual, material, or documentary.

This mix of interests and inspirations enhances the comparions between the works. Each of the exhibited artists has his or her own journey, but they have all been selected for their strong commitment and for the closeness they have with the themes they address and express through their images.

We can also highlight the links between the pieces and the intentions behind them, all drawn from a shared history: crossing territories; letting landscapes speak for themselves; questioning a generation; documenting a heritage, a culture; describing a society. Sublimating reality or moving away from it.

In contrast to the violent images of the numerous conflicts underway in the region which fuel the Arab media, the artists presented in this exhibition all show a great amount of freedom in their artistic approach by developing a personal and unique view on the world around them.

« Committed and deeply but just as often stilted. »

De Standaard, 17 December 2017
Hide See all images

L’exposition Ornamentum est temporairement fermée et rouvre ses portes prochainement. A bientôt!

La Fondation Boghossian présentait Instantanés d’Orient, une sélection de photographies issue de la Biennale des photographes du monde arabe contemporain, montrée à Paris à l’Institut du monde arabe ainsi qu’à la Maison Européenne de la Photographie en 2017.

L’exposition collective à la Villa Empain explorait le monde arabe contemporain au travers d’une diversité de regards, proposés par les six photographes suivants : Jaber Al Azmeh, Moath Alofi, Mouna Karray, Rania Matar, Douraïd Souissi et Stephan Zaubitzer.

Originaires de Tunisie, du Liban, de Syrie, d’Arabie Saoudite et d’Allemagne, les artistes captent, au travers de leurs séries d’instantanés, des portraits originaux et des paysages troublants.

Jack Lang, président de l’Institut du monde arabe, l’affirme : « La photographie demeure un incomparable révélateur du formidable bouleversement qui pétrit le monde arabe. » Ces images, que les artistes choisissent de faire surgir du réel, sont autant de récits symboliques et de narrations imaginaires, qui perpétuent à situer le monde arabe entre fantasme et réalité.

L’exploration de la création photographique contemporaine dans cette région permet de mettre en lumière la diversité des préoccupations des photographes qui vivent et travaillent dans le monde arabe, et de croiser leurs démarches, qu’elles soient conceptuelles, plastiques ou documentaires.

Ce mélange de sensibilités et d’inspirations enrichit la confrontation des œuvres. Et si chacun des artistes exposés a son propre parcours, tous ont été sélectionnés pour l’intensité de leur engagement et pour la proximité qu’ils entretiennent avec les sujets qu’ils ont décidé de traiter et dont ils témoignent à travers leurs images.

On peut également cerner les liens tissés entre les œuvres et les intentions qui les portent, puisés dans une histoire commune : traverser des territoires, faire parler des paysages, interroger une génération, documenter un patrimoine, une culture, raconter une société. Sublimer le réel ou s’en éloigner.

A l’opposé des images violentes qui nourrissent les médias arabes, illustrant les nombreux conflits en cours dans la région, les artistes présentés dans cette exposition manifestent tous une grande liberté dans leur démarche artistique, développant ainsi une vision personnelle et unique du monde qui les entoure.

« Percutant condensé de la récente Biennale des photographes
du monde arabe contemporain à Paris,
Instantanés d’Orient à la Fondation Boghossian
de Bruxelles chamboule le regard porté sur cette partie du monde.
»

Le Vif l’Express, le 15 décembre 2017
Cacher Afficher toutes les images