An artist’s jewel, like a painting or a sculpture, is a work of art. Born from the same creative approach, it has the same strength, the same poetry and capacity to evoke, and sometimes the same humour. Only their purpose differentiates them from each other.

From Picasso to Koons, many modern and contemporary artists have taken a close interest in jewellery.

It belongs neither to the world of high jewellery nor to that of costume jewellery. Nor is it associated with the independent creators of contemporary jewellery who design as much as they make and consider jewellery as a field of expression in its own right. A gesture of affection, artist’s jewellery, often designed for a loved one, is the work of painters or sculptors for whom this practice remains unusual.

The value of an artist’s jewel cannot be measured in carats. It is not judged by its hallmarks, its brilliance or its transparency. Whatever the art movement to which it belongs, an artist’s jewel created by a painter or sculptor testifies to a renewal of his or her approach to art – a renewal that is perhaps more fun, but just as rigorous.

From Kapoor to Braque, via Vasarely, Stella, Arman, César and Dali, the Collection Diane Venet consists of nearly 200 pieces, small and precious works of art that question the meaning and function of jewellery. These creations are always the result of an encounter.

Inspired by her own personal favourites, this exhibition reflects Diane Venet’s passion for creation: eclectic, playful and demanding. Throughout the exhibition, the great modern and contemporary movements are represented: the Surrealists, Abstract Art, POP Art, the New Realists, Kinetic Art, Minimal and Conceptual Art.

Ornamentum is accompanied by a sound piece conceived by the artist Sheila Concari. The original composition conceived for the exhibition mixes electronic sounds and quotations from Diane Venet.

Image: Pol Bury, Untitled, 1968 (golden bracelet, detail)

Sound: Mixed by Fabrizio Simonncioni at DPoT Regording Arts – Prato, Italy

Curators Diane Venet & Sheila Concari

Image: Pol Bury, Untitled, 1968 (golden bracelet, detail)

Sound: Mixed by Fabrizio Simonncioni at DPoT Regording Arts – Prato, Italy

Curators Diane Venet & Sheila Concari

Un bijou d’artiste, comme une peinture ou une sculpture, est une œuvre d’art. Né de la même approche créative, il possède la même force, la même poésie et capacité de provoquer, et parfois le même humour. Seule leur fonction les différencie l’un de l’autre.

De Picasso a Koons, nombreux sont les artistes modernes et contemporains à s’être intéressés de près au bijou.

Celui-ci n’appartient ni à l’univers de la haute joaillerie, ni à celui du bijou fantaisie. Il n’est pas non plus associé aux créateurs indépendants du bijou contemporain qui conçoivent autant qu’ils réalisent et considèrent le bijou comme champ d’expression à part entière. Geste d’affection, le bijou d’artiste, souvent conçu pour un proche, est l’œuvre de peintres ou de sculpteurs pour lesquels cette pratique reste inhabituelle.

La valeur d’un bijou d’artiste ne peut pas se mesurer en carats. Elle n’est pas jugée par ses poinçons, son éclat ou sa transparence. Quel que soit le mouvement d’art auquel il appartient, un bijou d’artiste créé par un peintre ou sculpteur témoigne d’un renouvellement de son approche à l’art – un renouvellement qui est peut-être plus amusant, mais tout aussi rigoureux.

De Kapoor à Braque, en passant par Vasarely, Stella, Arman, César et Dali, la collection que Diane Venet a rassemblé compte près de 200 pièces, de petites et précieuses œuvres d’art qui remettent en question le sens et la fonction de la bijouterie. Ces créations sont toujours l’aboutissement d’une rencontre.

Inspirée par des coups de cœur, cette exposition est à l’image de la passion de Diane Venet pour la création:  éclectique, ludique et exigeante. Au fil du parcours, les grands mouvements modernes et contemporains sont représentés : les Surréalistes, l’Art Abstrait, le POP Art, les Nouveaux Réalistes, l’Art Cinétique, l’Art Minimal et Conceptuel.

Ornamentum est accompagnée d’une pièce sonore conçue par l’artiste Sheila Concari. La composition inédite imaginée pour l’exposition mêle sons électronique et citations de Diane Venet.

Image: Pol Bury, Sans titre, 1968 (bracelet en or, détail)
Son: Mixed by Fabrizio Simonncioni at DPoT Regording Arts – Prato, Italy

Commissaires Diane Venet & Sheila Concari

Image: Pol Bury, Sans titre, 1968 (bracelet en or, détail)
Son: Mixed by Fabrizio Simonncioni at DPoT Regording Arts – Prato, Italy

Commissaires Diane Venet & Sheila Concari