From prehistoric times onwards, and echoing different iconographic codes according to the era, the representation of women is omnipresent in the history of art. Whether in religious or profane contexts, the portrayal of women, their faces or their bodies, has inspired the greatest artists throughout the world.

Portrait of a Lady brings together eighty-five works by major artists around this recurring motif and its variations. Covering artistic creation from the Palaeolithic era to contemporary art, the exhibition invites the public to explore the feelings and universal representations that the female portrait inspires.

The exhibition circuit pursues five themes, entitled respectively Originally, Women in an interior, Nude, model, muse, Portraits and self-portraits and The question of gender.

For centuries, the absence of women on the art scene has meant that the history of art has been devised and constructed by men. Despite a few exceptions like Berthe Morisot and Mary Cassatt, represented in the exhibition, women artists remained marginal for a long time. Thus, the portrait reflects to a very large extent a male way of seeing.

Nevertheless, the twentieth century is that of the emancipation of women in the West. From 1900 onwards, then generally in the 1960s, women have had access to artistic education. Today they outnumber men in art schools.

Responding to aesthetic currents and evolving ideals and criteria of beauty, the portrait questions the extent to which the individual remains a unique and irreplaceable being. The exhibition offers the opportunity to discover a great diversity of works and to shed light on the complexity of artistic thought and practices around this timeless theme.

The exhibition features a dialogue between the portraits produced by modern Belgian artists like James Ensor, Constant Permeke, Paul Delvaux, Léon and Gustave de Smet and Oscar Jespers, and the works of modern European artists such as Henri Matisse, Pablo Picasso and Edgar Degas.

The video of the Brussels artist Ariane Loze and the photography by the Finnish Elina Brotherus were done at the Villa Empain. Finally, the installation ‘A Mile in My Shoes’ invites you to slip into the shoes of sixteen women and listen to their testimonies of life.

Women come out of the shadows and clichés at the Villa Empain.

La Libre Belgique, 26 march 2022

Présente dès la préhistoire et répondant à différents codes iconographiques selon les époques, la représentation de la femme est omniprésente dans l’histoire de l’art. Sujet religieux ou profane, le portrait des femmes, de leur visage ou de leur corps, a inspiré les plus grand artistes par le monde.

Portrait of a Lady réunit quatre-vingt-cinq œuvres d’artistes majeurs autour de ce motif récurrent et de ses variations. L’exposition couvre la création artistique de l’ère paléolithique à l’art contemporain et invite le public à explorer les sentiments et les représentations universelles qu’inspire le portrait féminin.

Le parcours de l’exposition suit cinq thématiques, intitulées respectivement : A l’Origine, Femmes dans un intérieur, Nue : modèle, muse, Portraits et autoportraits et La question du genre.

Pendant des siècles, l’absence des femmes dans la scène artistique a eu pour conséquence que l’histoire de l’art a été pensée et faite par les hommes. Malgré quelques exceptions comme Berthe Morisot et Mary Cassatt, réunies dans l’exposition, les femmes artistes restent longtemps marginales. Aussi, le portrait est majoritairement le produit d’un regard masculin.

Le XXe siècle est celui de l’émancipation des femmes en occident. A partir de 1900, puis de manière généralisée dans les années 1960, les femmes accèdent à l’enseignement artistique. Elles sont dorénavant plus nombreuses que les hommes dans les écoles d’art.

L’exposition offre l’opportunité de découvrir une grande diversité d’œuvres et d’éclairer la complexité des pensées et pratiques artistiques autour de ce thème intemporel.

Elle présente notamment un dialogue entre les portraits réalisés par les artistes modernes belges, tels James Ensor, Constant Permeke, Paul Delvaux, Léon et Gustave de Smet et Oscar Jespers, et les œuvres d’artistes modernes européens, à l’instar d’Henri Matisse, Pablo Picasso, ou Edgar Degas.

La vidéo de l’artiste bruxelloise Ariane Loze et la photographie de la finlandaise Elina Brotherus ont été réalisées à la Villa Empain. Enfin, l’installation A Mile in My Shoes invite à se glisser dans les chaussures de femmes et à écouter leurs témoignages de vie.

Les femmes sortent de l’ombre et des clichés à la Villa Empain.

La Libre Belgique, le 26 mars 2022