Art can’t save people. However, the means of art makes dialogue possible, which invokes the action that can preserve humankind.” ___Günther Uecker

 

The Boghossian Foundation presents the exhibition Trees for memories with works by 31 internationally renowned artists that takes a very special stand for peace, one century after the end of the First World War.

All works have in common that their starting point is a square block of oak (30 x 30 x 30 cm). The wood originates from a section of the front in Alsace, and still bears traces of the war. Injuries to the wood, the encapsuled remains of metal projectiles and black discolouration make the wooden elements both relics and witnesses of the war.

For the occasion of Trees for memories, artists united to give a voice to these logs and tell their stories. The exhibition is intended to set an example of peaceful coexistence without violence and presents works from internationally renowned artists from countries militarily involved in the war, making the statement that art and artists can help to change the world, to a more peaceful coexistence.

“During the First World War, trees were silent witnesses; if they could raise their voices, they would tell us a story of unspeakable suffering. Some of them were hit by artillery, maybe hand grenades, rifle bullets; all have seen the same horror. For one hundred years, the traces of it lay invisible under the bark of the trees – until today” says Mattijs Visser, curator of the collective show.

 

After an idea of Volker-Johannes Trieb, the works have been shown at the Varusschlacht Museum in Kalkriese and the German Bundestag in Berlin. The exhibition will be presented at the European Parlement in Brussels in November 2021 before being shown at the United Nations in New York, in 2022.

Artists

Aljoscha (Ukraine), Miroslaw Balka (Poland), Jean Boghossian (Armenia), Christian Boltanski (France), Monica Bonvicini (Italy), Wim Botha (South Africa), Greta Brătescu (Romania), Pedro Cabrita Reis (Portugal), Tony Cragg (United Kingdom), Berlinde De Bruyckere (Belgium), Braco Dimitrijević (Croatia), Cevdet Erek (Turkey), Fiona Hall (Australia), Sadaharu Horio (Japan), IRWIN (Slovenia), Ilya & Emilia Kabakov (Russia), Anish Kapoor (India), David McCracken (New Zealand), Hermann Nitsch (Austria), Roman Ondak (Slovakia), Sándor Pinczehelyi (Hungary), Sean Scully (Ireland), Kiki Smith (USA), Nedko Solakov (Bulgaria), Rirkrit Tiravanija (Thailand) , Jana Sterbak (Canada), Raša Todosijević (Serbia), Günther Uecker (Germany), Costas Varotsos (Greece), Huang Yong Ping (China), Jana Želibská (Czech Republic).

Curator Mattijs Visser
Artists

Aljoscha (Ukraine), Miroslaw Balka (Poland), Jean Boghossian (Armenia), Christian Boltanski (France), Monica Bonvicini (Italy), Wim Botha (South Africa), Greta Brătescu (Romania), Pedro Cabrita Reis (Portugal), Tony Cragg (United Kingdom), Berlinde De Bruyckere (Belgium), Braco Dimitrijević (Croatia), Cevdet Erek (Turkey), Fiona Hall (Australia), Sadaharu Horio (Japan), IRWIN (Slovenia), Ilya & Emilia Kabakov (Russia), Anish Kapoor (India), David McCracken (New Zealand), Hermann Nitsch (Austria), Roman Ondak (Slovakia), Sándor Pinczehelyi (Hungary), Sean Scully (Ireland), Kiki Smith (USA), Nedko Solakov (Bulgaria), Rirkrit Tiravanija (Thailand) , Jana Sterbak (Canada), Raša Todosijević (Serbia), Günther Uecker (Germany), Costas Varotsos (Greece), Huang Yong Ping (China), Jana Želibská (Czech Republic).

Curator Mattijs Visser

L’exposition How will it end et les événements de la Fondation Boghossian sont accessibles uniquement sur présentation du Covid safe ticket

« L’art ne peut pas sauver les gens. Cependant, il rend le dialogue possible, ce qui convoque l’action qui peut préserver l’humanité. » ___Günther Uecker

 

La Fondation Boghossian accueille l’exposition Trees for memories, qui réunit les œuvres de 31 artistes de renommée internationale : un siècle après la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale, leurs œuvres constituent, chacune à leur manière, un plaidoyer pour la paix.

Ces œuvres ont pour point de départ commun un bloc de chêne carré (30 x 30 x 30 cm). Ce bois, issu d’une section du front en Alsace, porte encore en lui les stigmates de la guerre. Par les blessures qui leur ont été infligées, les fragments de projectiles en métal encore incrustés à l’intérieur, ainsi que le noircissement de leur surface, ces blocs de bois sont à la fois des reliques et des témoins de la guerre.

Trees for memories rassemble des artistes qui se sont unis pour donner voix au bois, afin que les arbres puissent raconter leur histoire. Cette exposition cherche à définir un modèle de coexistence pacifique et non-violente : en présentant les œuvres d’artistes mondialement réputés, tous issus de pays ayant participé militairement à cette guerre, elle proclame la capacité de l’art et des artistes à changer le monde et à permettre une coexistence plus pacifique.

« Les arbres ont été les témoins silencieux de la Première Guerre mondiale. S’ils pouvaient prendre la parole, ils nous raconteraient une histoire faite de souffrances indicibles. Certains ont été touchés par des armes d’artillerie, d’autres par des grenades ou par des balles de fusil ; tous ont assisté aux mêmes horreurs. Pendant un siècle, les traces de ces évènements sont restées cachées sous l’écorce des arbres – jusqu’à aujourd’hui », explique Mattijs Visser, commissaire de cette exposition collective.

 

Imaginées d’après une idée de Volker-Johannes Trieb, ces œuvres ont été présentées au Varusschlacht Museum de Kalkriese et au Bundestag de Berlin. L’exposition se tiendra également au Parlement européen (Bruxelles) en novembre 2021, avant d’être présentée en 2022 à l’ONU (New York).

Des cubes de bois meurtris pour un magnifique plaidoyer pour la paix.

La Libre Belgique, 12 juin 2021