Spaces in-between
Nadim Karam

On 24 May 2019, the Boghossian Foundation and the City of Brussels inaugurated the sculpture Spaces in-between, by artist Nadim Karam, on Avenue Franklin Roosevelt, opposite the Villa Empain.

This joint initiative reflects a shared desire to exhibit art in the city and to integrate culture into the urban landscape. The Boghossian Foundation wishes to make available its collection of monumental works as part of a major cooperation with the City of Brussels.

The desire of Lebanese artist Nadim Karam is to “make cities dream”, in response to the war he has known. “For me, to create an urban art project is to communicate with the essence of a city and come to a better understanding of its people, culture and dynamics. I try to project a dream for the city that only materializes when the city and its people get involved and begin working with me.”

 

Spaces in-between

The sculptural installation reflects on the relationship between East and West. “Hectic, chaotic and fragmented are words that define our trajectory. Absorbing all of these, we have to learn to negotiate and navigate our way patiently.”

When we refer to East and West today, these words frequently evoke a tension between two geographical areas, along with distinct identities and contradictory world views. Words that have been used over the centuries, with differing interpretations and ever-changing boundaries. For Nadim Karam, the underlying issue could be a cross-cultural miscommunication between East and West, but also within each of the two divides.

These two sculptures aim to visualize the blank spots on the maps of communication, by reflecting on this unclear boundary between East and West by having the same ambiguous circular line contour drawn on their surface, with memories growing on either side of the borders. If one were to combine the two together, there would be both memory overlaps and gaps.

Standing face to face, these two circular surfaces trigger a historical dialogue that intersects in many places and yet that contains breaches. The other side of the each of the sculptures is fully perforated by an array of 1cm circular wholes that follow attractor poles to allow the light to seep in, offering better visibility of the patterns. It offers spectators the chance to imagine and retrace the fluctuations of sociocultural and geographical borders. If one stands in the middle, the reflection of either would make a completely patterned surface that is fully perforated with memories.

Practical information

BOGHOSSIAN FOUNDATION – VILLA EMPAIN
Centre for art and dialogue between Eastern and Western cultures
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
1050 Bruxelles

In collaboration with

Spaces in-between
Nadim Karam

Le 24 mai, la Fondation Boghossian et la Ville de Bruxelles ont inauguré Spaces in-between, la sculpture de l’artiste Nadim Karam, avenue Franklin Roosevelt, en face de la Villa Empain.

Cette initiative conjointe de la Fondation Boghossian et de la Ville de Bruxelles s’inscrit dans une volonté commune d’exposer l’art dans la ville et d’intégrer la culture au paysage urbain. La Fondation Boghossian souhaite mettre à disposition sa collection d’œuvres monumentales dans le cadre d’une coopération d’envergure avec la Ville de Bruxelles.

Le désir de l’artiste libanais Nadim Karam est de « Faire rêver les villes », en réponse à la guerre qu’il a connue.
« Pour moi, créer un projet d’art urbain revient à communiquer avec l’essence même de la ville et mieux comprendre ses habitants, sa culture et sa dynamique. J’essaye de projeter un rêve pour la ville qui ne se concrétise qu’une fois que la ville et ses habitants commencent à s’impliquer et à travailler avec moi. »

 

Spaces in-between
L’installation sculpturale livre une réflexion sur la relation entre Orient et Occident. « Trépidant, chaotique et fragmenté sont les mots qui définissent notre trajectoire. En s’en imprégnant, nous avons appris à négocier et à tracer notre chemin avec patience. »

Lorsque nous nous référons à l’Orient et à l’Occident aujourd’hui, ces dénominations évoquent souvent une tension entre deux zones géographiques, ainsi que des identités distinctes et des visions du monde contradictoires. Elles ont été utilisées au cours des siècles, avec des interprétations différentes et des frontières en constante évolution.

Pour Nadim Karam, le problème sous-jacent pourrait être une mauvaise communication interculturelle entre l’Est et l’Ouest, mais également au sein de ces derniers. Le but de ces deux sculptures est de faire visualiser les vides sur les cartes de la communication, en réfléchissant sur les frontières floues entre l’Est et l’Ouest et en ayant le même contour incertain tracé sur leurs surfaces, avec des souvenirs grandissant de part et d’autre des frontières. Si nous combinions les deux, il y aurait à la fois des chevauchements et des espaces vides.

Face à face, ces deux surfaces déclenchent un dialogue historique qui se croise en de nombreux endroits mais qui contient également des brèches. L’autre côté de chacune des sculptures est entièrement perforé par une rangée de trous circulaires de 1cm pour permettre à la lumière de s’infiltrer, offrant une meilleure visibilité des motifs. Elles offrent aux spectateurs la possibilité d’imaginer et de retracer les fluctuations des frontières socio-culturelles et géographiques. Lorsqu’on se tient entre les deux éléments, la réflexion de l’un ou de l’autre créée une surface structurée et entièrement perforée de souvenirs.

Informations pratiques

FONDATION BOGHOSSIAN – VILLA EMPAIN
Centre d’art et de dialogue entre les cultures d’orient et d’occident
67 avenue Franklin Roosevelt
1050 Bruxelles

En collaboration avec