The Idle Oyster in Swamp
Sunday 18 February 2018, at 3 pm
By Adam Vackar and Romana Drdova


Visual artist Adam Vackar takes advantage of his residency at the Boghossian Foundation to develop a performance in collaboration with artist Romana Drdova. Vackar and Drdova have been exploring the notion of the difficulty of communication and exchange between individuals in this century where human body is related to the design of emerging materials, processes and technologies of mass production. They will expand this exploration into the realm of performance composed of several episodes. 

He is developping as well a series of installations in the Villa Empain’s garden during his stay. They examine the notion of post-industrial nature. Vackar intentionally violates natural environement with plastic materials and designs a post-natural environement.


About Adam Vackar
Adam Vackar (b.1979) is based in Prague. He holds an MA from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-arts in Paris and a BA from the Academy of Applied Arts in Prague. He has participated in le Pavillon, the artist-in-residence program in Palais de Tokyo. Vackar has presented his work in diverse international group and solo shows in Centre Pompidou, Centre Pompidou Metz, Palais de Tokyo, Bucharest Triennial, Prague Triennial, City Gallery Prague, National Gallery in Prague, Art Basel – Statements and Film, Cologne Kunstverein, Museum Morsbroich and others. His work is in permanent collections of SMAK, Ghent. Adam Vackar is cofounder of Prague-based collective Hope Recycling Station, which organizes lectures with international artists, curators and philosophers as well as exhibition projects.
In focus of Adam Vackar’s work focused on the production for the mass society as the new matter provided for a new materialism; devastation caused by industrialization; technologies of mass production and distribution; turn of living tissue into a plastic medium and transforming landscapes.


About Romana Drdova
Romana Drdova (b.1987) graduated at the Academy of Fine Arts in Prague with study stays at Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe and Korean University in Seoul. Her work is formally inspired by product and fashion design and technology with both affirmative and critical approach. Drdova uses the language of industrial materials to manifest her intimate emotions. She investigates the theme of perception and human interaction at the time of a data smog through seemingly pure aesthetics, transparency and use of light. Her work was exhibited at Czech institutions with solo exhibitions at Futura Centre for Contemporary Art, MeetFactory, Karlin Studios and National Gallery in Prague and in group exhibitions in Prague, Berlin, Dusseldorf, Brussels, Vienna and Liège. In 2017 she was nominated for Jindrich Chalupecky’s award for young Czech artists.


Centre for art and dialogue between the cultures of the East and the West
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
B – 1050 Brussels

Price : 10€
Free for the members of the Circle of the Villa
4€ for students under 26

This includes access to the exhibitions
Ways of Seeing and Instantanés d’Orient

The Idle Oyster in Swamp
Dimanche 18 février 2018, à 15 heures
Par Adam Vackar et Romana Drdova

 

Adam Vackar présente une performance conçue en collaboration avec l’artiste Romana Drdova à l’occasion de sa résidence à la Fondation Boghossian. Vackar et Drdova examinent la notion de la difficulté de communication et d’échange entre des individus à notre époque, où le corps humain est lié au design des matières émergentes, des processus et des technologies de production en série. Ils exploreront cette notion à travers une performance étendue sur plusieurs épisodes.

Artiste plasticien, il développe également pendant son séjour une série d’installations à découvrir dans le jardin de Villa Empain. Elles examinent la notion de nature à l’ère post-industrielle. Vackar altère des éléments naturels avec des matériaux plastiques et conçoit ainsi un environnement post-naturel.

 

A propos de Adam Vackar
Adam Vackar (né en 1979) vit et travaille à Prague. Il a obtenu son diplôme de Master à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris après avoir étudié à l’Académie des Arts Appliqués de Prague. Il a participé au Pavillon, le programme d’artiste en résidence au Palais de Tokyo. Vackar a également présenté son travail dans de nombreuses et diverses expositions individuelles et collectives, dont au Centre Pompidou à Paris, au Centre Pompidou Metz, au Palais de Tokyo, à la Triennale de Bucharest, à la Triennale de Prague, à la City Gallery Prague, à la Galerie Nationale de Prague, à Art Basel – Statements and Film, à la Kunstverein de Cologne, et au Museum Morsbroich, entre autres. Son travail fait partie de la collection permanente de SMAK, à Gand. Adam Vackar est un des co-fondateurs du collectif Hope Recycling Station basé à Prague, qui organise des conférences avec des artistes, curateurs, et philosophes internationaux, ainsi que des discussions autour de projets d’exposition.
Le travail d’Adam Vackar se centre autour de la production de masse pour la société comme nouvelle matière mise en œuvre pour un nouveau matérialisme, les ravages de l’industrialisation, les technologies de production et de distribution de masse, la transformation d’un tissu vivant en un médium plastic, et la métamorphose des paysages.


A propos de Romana Drdova

Romana Drdova (née en 1987) a obtenu son diplôme de l’Académie des Beaux-arts de Prague, en passant par la Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe et l’Université de Corée à Seoul. Son travail s’inspire formellement du design d’objet, de la mode, et de la technologie dans une démarche à la fois positive et critique. Drdova utilise le langage des matières industrielles pour manifester ses sentiments intimes. A travers son esthétique apparement pure, la transparence, et la lumière, elle interroge le thème de la perception et de l’interaction humaine à un moment où nous subissons un excès d’information accablant. Son travail a été montré dans des dans des centres d’arts tchèques, avec des expositions individuelles au Futura Centre for Contemporary Art, à MeetFactory, à Karlin Studios et à la Galerie Nationale de Prague, ainsi que des expositions collectives à Prague, Berlin, Dusseldorf, Bruxelles, Vienne et Liège. En 2017, elle a été nommée pour le prix de Jindrich Chalupecky, décerné aux jeunes artistes tchèques.

Informations pratiques

FONDATION BOGHOSSIAN – VILLA EMPAIN
Centre d’art et de dialogue entre les cultures d’orient et d’occident
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
B – 1050 Bruxelles

Prix : 10€
Gratuit pour les membres du Cercle de la Villa
Les personnes de moins de 26 ans : 4€

Ce montant inclut l’accès aux expositions
Ways of Seeing et Instantanés d’Orient