Leak-Out
Sunday 30 September 2018 at 3 pm 
By Anastasia Bay and Julien Saudubray
In collaboration with Juliette Otter and Matthieu Levet

 

“Sweat was dripping down my spine, I approached the short tap which distributed fresh water. I splashed my face and saved some for later in a little-coloured plastic recipient. I returned to the place that I had just left, crossing the thick vapour of the room which carved us like cotton clothes too tight. My eyes were not sufficiently accustomed to looking into the mist, I was petrified by the idea of a contact, a feverish like skin which would suddenly stick to mine. I had found a way to relax, I allowed my fingertips to stroke the small mosaic tiles which covered the benches and I lingered on their irregularities. As for the door it opened to let in a new person, making the sound of an airlock, I opened my eyes to observe the spectacle of the air floating in the room and sculpting an agile trajectory, finally offering an outline of the face of the man sitting in front of me.”

For this project at the Villa Empain, the Brussels collective Clovis XV undertook a collaboration with the choreographer Juliette Otter and the sound artist Matthieu Levet.

Leak-Out overflows, but with restraint. The elements of the narrative leave the vase, drop by drop, offering symbols, codes, and images to the spectator. The content is not linear; it is an act with multiple scenes which make up an imagery which has been modelled as hazy. Nothing is raised, the structure is developed horizontally. The bodies evoke solitude and idleness. The characters move in a moist atmosphere, integrating sculptures by the two visual artists whilst the public is caught in the middle of the screen through which they view the scene and the sound: original soundtrack of the performance.

 

About Anastasia Bay and Julien Saudubray

In 2014 the artist-run space Clovis XV opens its doors to Brussels. Its founding members Anastasia Bay and Julien Saudubray rapidly integrate the curatorial aspect of their artistic practice. Within their installations they include the works of guest artists or undertake direct collaborations, the collective operates by means of expanding scenic devices. The liquid element, transported by pipes and pumps, has a central role in their installations as they embody the fluidity and mobility which drives their research. Parasitizing as well as networking, their reflection inscribes itself as questioning of the means of production and diffusion appropriate to the young art scene in Brussels. Their work has been shown at ISELP, Villa Arson, The Others art fair in Turin, at the Spinnerei in Leipzig, Germany or even at the Underconstruction gallery in Paris.\

Practical Information

BOGHOSSIAN FOUNDATION – VILLA EMPAIN
Centre for art and dialogue between Eastern and Western cultures
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
B – 1050 Brussels

Price : 10€
Free for the members of the Circle of the Villa
4€  for students under 26

This includes access to the exhibition Beyond Borders

Information
E. info@boghossianfoundation.be
T. +32 2 627 52 30

Leak-Out
Dimanche 30 septembre 2018, à 15 heures 
Par Anastasia Bay et Julien Saudubray
En collaboration avec Juliette Otter et Matthieu Levet

 

“La sueur dégoulinait le long de mon échine, je me dirigeais vers le court robinet qui distribuait de l’eau fraîche. Je m’en éclaboussais le visage, et en gardais pour plus tard dans un petit récipient en plastique coloré. Je retournais à la place que je venais de quitter, traversant l’épaisse vapeur de la pièce, qui nous taillait comme des vêtements en coton trop étroits. Mes yeux n’étaient pas encore suffisamment habitués à regarder dans la brume, j’étais pétrifié par l’idée d’un contact, une peau comme fiévreuse qui soudainement viendrait coller la mienne. J’avais trouvé un moyen de me détendre, je caressais du bout des doigts les petits carreaux de mosaïque qui recouvraient les bancs et m’attardais sur leurs irrégularités. La porte, quand elle s’ouvrait pour laisser entrer une nouvelle personne faisait le bruit d’un sas, j’ouvrais les yeux pour observer le spectacle de l’air qui s’enfournait dans la pièce en sculptant agilement sa trajectoire, offrant enfin un contour à la gueule de l’homme assis en face de moi.”

Pour ce projet à la Villa Empain le collectif bruxellois Clovis XV entreprend une collaboration avec la chorégraphe Juliette Otter et l’artiste sonore Matthieu Levet.

Leak-Out déborde mais tout en retenue. Les éléments de la narration quittent le vase, au goutte à goutte, offrant symboles, codes et images au spectateur. Le contenu n’est pas linéaire, c’est un tableau aux multiples scènes qui composent une imagerie au modelé vaporeux. Rien ne s’érige, la structure se développe à l’horizontal. Les corps évoquent solitude et oisiveté. Les caractères se meuvent dans une atmosphère moite intégrant des sculptures des deux plasticiens tandis que le public est pris en étau entre l’écran à travers lequel il observe la scène, et le son : bande originale de la représentation.

 

À propos de Anastasia Bay et Julien Saudubray

En 2014 l’artist-run-space ClovisXV ouvre ses portes à Bruxelles. Ses membres fondateurs Anastasia Bay et Julien Saudubray intègrent rapidement l’aspect curatorial à leur pratique artistique. Incluant au sein de leurs installations les oeuvres d’artistes invités, où pratiquant des collaborations directes, le collectif opère aux moyens de dispositifs scéniques tentaculaires. L’élément liquide, véhiculé par des tuyaux et des pompes, prend une place centrale dans leurs installations, incarnant la fluidité et la mobilité qui animent leur recherche. Parasitage autant que mise en réseau, leur réflexion s’inscrit dans une remise en question des moyens de production et de diffusion propres à la jeune scène artistique bruxelloise. Leur travail a été montré à l’Iselp, à la villa Arson, à la foire the others à Turin, à la Spinnerei, Leipzig, Allemagne ou encore à la galerie Underconstruction à Paris.

Informations pratiques

FONDATION BOGHOSSIAN – VILLA EMPAIN
Centre d’art et de dialogue entre les cultures d’orient et d’occident
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 67
B – 1050 Bruxelles

Prix : 10€
Gratuit pour les membres du Cercle de la Villa
Les personnes de moins de 26 ans : 4€

Ce montant inclut l’accès
à l’exposition Beyond Borders

Réservations
E. info@boghossianfoundation.be
T. +32 2 627 52 30